Click here!

Unesco World Heritage Sites In Sicily

Unesco Map Sicily

The UNESCO (United Nations Education, Science and Culture Organization) also known as UN World Heritage is the United Nations’ office that since 1946 takes care of the most beautiful sites of the world, both natural and built by men. The goal is to preserve them so that the future generations could know and keep them in the full respect of their characteristics.

Italy is the nation with most UNESCO sites ever declared in the world, and seven of them are on our island. In Sicily, the World Heritage mainly points to nature and ancient historical testimonies. The sites are: Aeolian Archipelago, Mt. Etna, the Roman Villa of Casale in Piazza Armerina, Syracuse and the necropolis of Pantalica, the Baroque towns of Val di Noto, Arab-Norman routes in Palermo, Monreale, Cefalù and Agrigento with its archaeological park.

Sicily, world-renowned for its historically significant cultural treasures and natural heritages, is represented on the World Heritage list with seven sites.

Archaeological sites of Agrigento – World Heritage Site since 1997

Die Archäologischen Stätten von AgrigentAgrigento was founded in VI. century BC. and was considered one of the most important cities in the Mediterranean region in antiquity. In the “Valle dei Templi” belonging to Agrigento, you can see, from the well-preserved Doric temples, how strongly Sicily was characterized by the Greek culture. The Valley of the Temples is a must-see for culture lovers on a vacation in Sicily.


Info und Tours

Etna – World Natural Heritage since 2013


Mount Etna is a special treasure of our planet, its enormous importance in cultural, scientific and geological terms motivated UNESCO to declare the highest active volcano in Europe a World Heritage Site. He played an important role in mythology and still contributes to the shape of Sicily, which is constantly changing due to its activity. Without Etna, Sicily would miss its vibrant soul.

Info und Tours

Aeolian Islands – World Natural Heritage since 2000

Die Äolischen Inseln

The Liparic or Aeolian Islands (Panarea, Stromboli, Vulcano, Alicudi, Filicudi, Lipari and Salina) are located on the north coast of Sicily. All 7 islands of the archipelago are of volcanic origin and were declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2002 due to their importance for the ongoing worldwide volcanological investigation. The Aeolian Islands are a unique paradise that, in addition to its active volcano of Stromboli and its fabulous black beaches, also has enchanting underwater worlds to offer.

Info und Tours

Necropolis of Pantalica UNESCO Word Heritage since 2005

Nekropolis von Pantalica

The UNESCO World Heritage Site of Pantalica includes two different sites: the Pantalica Necropolis and the ancient city of Syracuse. In the necropolis there are more than 5000 chamber graves, most of them date back to 8th to 7th century BC. One of the first Greek settlements in Sicily was founded on the Ortygia peninsula in Syracuse in the 8th century BC. Syracuse is rich in historical treasures, including the remains of the Temple of Apollo, the Greek Theater and the Roman Amphitheater.

Info und Tours

Late Baroque towns in the Val di Noto – World Heritage since 2002


The Val di Noto is known for its beautiful late Baroque towns (Caltagirone, Militello Val di Catania, Catania, Modica, Noto, Palazzolo, Ragusa and Scicli), which were completely rebuilt after a devastating earthquake in 1693. They were declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2002. You will find charming architectural masterpieces here.

Info und Tours

Villa Romana del Casale – World Heritage Site since 1997

Villa Romana del Casale

Villa Romana del Casale In Piazza Armerina is a very well-preserved Roman villa, which was built around 300 AD. The “Villa Romana del Casale” is decorated with extraordinary mosaics such as the well-known mosaic of the “bikini girls”. The late Roman villa in the Contrada Casale at the foot of Monte Mangone was built in III. – IVth century BC and is an outstanding example of a Roman luxury villa.

Info und Tours